Computer-based Initial Administration and Scoring Trainings

The English Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC) computer-based Initial ELPAC testing window is July 1, 2020, through June 30, 2021. To prepare for this test administration, there will be 16 computer-based Initial ELPAC Administration and Scoring Trainings held statewide. These trainings are scheduled April 14 through May 20, 2020 with four make-up trainings scheduled in August 2020.

Attendance at Statewide Trainings

Each local educational agency (LEA) has been allocated one seat to attend the Computer-based Initial ELPAC Administration and Scoring Trainings. This is a mandatory training for each LEA that will be administering the new computer-based Initial ELPAC. Representatives from all LEAs, including those trained for the computer-based Summative ELPAC administration in the fall of 2019, must also attend one of the trainings.

All LEA and county staff who intend to provide a regional training must also attend this training before conducting their own. The trainings will follow a “training-of-trainers” model, designed so that attendees can provide in-person training to their own LEA.

The training will run from 8 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. This training series will focus primarily on the local scoring of the computer-based Initial ELPAC Writing domain.

Training Locations

The California Department of Education–sponsored statewide trainings will take place from April 14 through May 20, 2020. Make-up trainings will be held in August 2020. The tentative schedule is shown below.

Trainings are scheduled for the following dates and locations:
DateDayLocation
Apr. 14 Tues. Sacramento
Apr. 16 Thurs. Redding
Apr. 21 Tues. Ventura
Apr. 22 Wed. Burbank
Apr. 23 Thurs. Costa Mesa
Apr. 28 Tues. Visalia
Apr. 29 Wed. Clovis
May 1 Fri. Sacramento
May 5 Tues. Rancho Cucamonga
May 6 Wed. Montebello
May 7 Thurs. San Diego
May 12 Tues. Redwood City
May 13 Wed. San Jose
May 18 Mon. Monterey
May 19 Tues. Concord
May 20 Wed. Santa Rosa

Training Overview

The computer-based Initial ELPAC Administration and Scoring Trainings will provide an overview of the test administration. A majority of the training day will be spent on the administration and scoring of the Speaking and Writing domains.

Registration

Registration will open on Monday, February 3, 2020. In January, LEA ELPAC coordinators will receive an email containing registration information for their LEA. Please note that each LEA will only have one seat; therefore, only the LEA ELPAC coordinator will be allowed to register a participant for training.

Registration will be on a first-come, first-served basis until each training site is full. LEAs may register additional staff to be placed on a waiting list. Wait-listed participants will be notified approximately one week before each training.

Regional Workshops

Please note that all ELPAC Test Examiners are required to be trained to administer the Initial ELPAC. To accommodate your LEA’s training needs, many regional workshops around the state will be available. As each becomes available, the regional workshops will be posted on the ELPAC web site on the Initial Assessment Regional Training List web page.