2019 Summative ELPAC Administration and Scoring Trainings

The 2019 Summative ELPAC testing window is February 1 through May 31, 2019. To prepare for this test administration, there will be 24 Summative ELPAC Administration and Scoring Trainings held statewide.

Attendance at Statewide Trainings

Each local educational agency (LEA) has been allocated a specific number of seats to attend the Summative ELPAC Administration and Scoring Trainings. This is a mandatory training for each LEA who will be administering the Summative ELPAC due to the new items in the 2019 version of the test. Representatives from all LEAs must attend one of the trainings below.

All LEA and/or county staff who intend to provide a regional training must also attend this training before conducting their own. The training will follow a "training-of-trainers" model, designed so that attendees can provide in-person training to their own LEA.

A portion of the training day will be divided into two groups: kindergarten through grade 5 in one room and grades 6 through 12 in another room. It is recommended that you plan accordingly and bring one trainer for the lower grades and one trainer for the upper grades, if applicable.

Training Locations

The California Department of Education-sponsored statewide trainings will take place from October 9, 2018, through November 29, 2018. The tentative schedule is shown below.

Trainings are scheduled for the following dates and locations:

Summative ELPAC Training Dates and Locations
DateDayLocation
October 9 Tuesday Sacramento
October 11 Thursday Redding
October 16 Tuesday Santa Barbara
October 17 Wednesday Burbank
October 18 Thursday Montebello
October 19 Friday San Diego
October 23 Tuesday Monterey
October 24 Wednesday Santa Clara - TBD
October 25 Thursday Redwood City
October 26 Friday Santa Rosa
October 30 Tuesday Santa Ana
October 31 Wednesday Oceanside
November 1 Thursday Palm Springs
November 2 Friday Riverside
November 6 Tuesday Stockton
November 7 Wednesday Merced
November 8 Thursday Clovis - TBD
November 9 Friday Tulare
November 13 Tuesday Burbank
November 14 Wednesday Santa Ana
November 15 Thursday Torrance
November 16 Friday Pomona
November 27 Tuesday Concord
November 29 Thursday Sacramento

Training Overview

The 2019 Summative ELPAC Administration and Scoring Training will provide an overview of the test administration. A majority of the training day will be spent on the administration and scoring of the Speaking domain.

Registration

Registration will open on Wednesday, August 15, 2018. In August, LEA ELPAC Coordinators will receive an e-mail containing registration information for their LEA. Due to the limited number of seats at each training, only the LEA ELPAC Coordinator will be allowed to register participants for trainings. Each LEA has been allocated a specific number of seats to attend the 2019 Summative ELPAC Administration and Scoring Trainings.

Registration will be on a first-come, first-served basis, until each training site is full. LEAs may register all of their staff for one location, or each participant for separate locations.